Narrative Essay

Retrieved from https://www.huffpost.com/entry/how-do-you-live-in-a-chan_b_175288

It is difficult for a person to live in a changing world, but he frequently creates these difficulties for himself because he refuses to adapt to the inevitable changes in the country’s and society’s lives. It is easier to exist in the old way, without making any changes, but it is impossible to develop in such circumstances. As a result, we must persevere in the face of adversity in order to remain relevant. It is inevitable that children will leave their parents’ homes. Many students leave to study in other cities and countries, and this is the first step in forging their own, unique history. I know what happens when a girl is away from home because I’ve been there. There have been a number of life-changing events in my life. Every new experience, at some point, was the first experience. Each incident, for better or worse, altered the course of my life. To designate a specific type of remembrance, the term re-membering can be used, which refers to the reunion of participants of people from the same life history (Myerhoff, 1982). Michael White (1997) proposed that the influence of the so-called “life club” shapes people’s identities. I’d like to recognize two members of “my life club” who have influenced how I see myself: my mother and a friend who taught me to never give up and to believe in myself.

What are the benefits of moving abroad
Retrieved from https://www.expat.com/en/expat-mag/1806-what-are-the-benefits-of-moving-abroad.html

Moving abroad was a significant step in my life. This was a difficult time in my life. Unfortunately, for me, it was associated with stress and a lengthy adaptation process that made it difficult to enjoy new experiences right away. It became clear to me in the Dubai that people of different cultures communicate in different ways. Because I was a shy person, it took me about 3 months to adjust to a new way of communicating; I could only feel like “a fish in water” when I communicated with my classmates. It took time for me to make friends among foreigners. Another aspect was admission to St. Peterburg University of Economics. After studying there for a couple of months, me and my classmates were informed in a nicer way, that we could not continue to study further for several reasons, which I would not like to reveal in more detail. Of course, in such situation, not only me and others would have laid down their hands long ago. The good thing that the values ​​I learned as a child were to have patience and always have hope no matter the circumstance.

The presence of basic domestic comforts was critical in this situation: there was a place where I could retire and relax. I stayed with new friends I met at university who spoke the same language as me. I recently moved to another apartment, where I met my friend Valeria, and we formed a tight-knit circle in which everyone helped each other out. I consider myself extremely fortunate in terms of the people I’ve met in Dubai. Furthermore, my mother was always supportive in this regard in order for me to overcome this challenge. It is critical to have this support and the conviction that this experience will be beneficial in some way in the future. I believe that for almost everyone, the experience of living abroad can be extremely beneficial; the challenges you face while doing so are an integral part of the learning process. Of course, there are some people for whom venturing outside of their comfort zone can be harmful, but these people, in my opinion, are in the minority. If you want to travel the world and aren’t afraid to try new things, studying abroad is a great way to do so.

13 Things to Know Before Moving Abroad Alone | MoveHub
Retrieved from https://www.movehub.com/advice/moving-abroad-alone/

In retrospect, there is nothing I would change… The opportunity to discover myself from a new perspective was one of the benefits of studying abroad. This was a fantastic opportunity to learn, to adapt and respond effectively, to discover new strengths and abilities, to overcome fears, and to learn to solve problems on my own. Furthermore, through interaction with people from various walks of life, communication skills are being developed. These abilities will be beneficial to me for the rest of my life. Listen to yourself and respect your inner voice, is the best piece of advice. It is possible to practice self-care indefinitely. Make your own choices, experiment, and evolve. Choose what you are truly interested in learning. Go where you really want to live. Communicate with those who are truly close to you, rather than just your classmates. Allow yourself time to decide, gather information, and become accustomed to. Do not expect the impossible from yourself. Allow yourself to make mistakes. Learn as much as you can!

References:

Russell, S. and Carey, M., 2022. Remembering: responding to commonly asked questions. Narrativepractices.com.au.

Myerhoff, B. (1982). Life History among the Elder Performance, Visibility and Remembering. In J. Ruby (Ed.), A Crack in the Mirror Reflexive Perspectives in Anthropology (pp. 99-117). Philadelphia, PA University of Pennsylvania Press.

Published
Categorized as BCM 313

By Malichka

Supposing is good, but finding out is better

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started